Happy Birthday: To A Friend

I wanted to write you something for your birthday -without it being completely weird. Words mean the world to me, and most times -with a little bit of time and effort (and a few extra words for flavor) I can find the words for what I am trying to say. But writing something to you left me high and dry, which was weird. Because I can almost always find words to write.

I can’t define the moment we became friends. I remember when we first started talking, and when we first started having cookies -but the moment the conversations went from casually talking to another person, to really talking to someone as a friend, is a moment I can’t define. Most likely because like all good things -it came organically. It wasn’t forced. It wasn’t done under pressure. It just happened. Over time.

Making friends has never been a natural talent of mine. People, as you know and as we have discussed in great detail -are idiots. So many are not worth wasting time with. Being friends with them is draining, frustrating and completely one sided. There is rarely that moment when you can actually sigh relief around a person. There are very few moments in life that I have found, that I can honestly relax and enjoy life around people. It is stressful, frustrating and complicated. It leaves me wishing I never left the house, and could move to that abandon island where there are no people!

And then somehow, for whatever reason, perhaps one of life’s great mysteries -you said hi to me, and I said hi back.

And however many years later -regardless of time zones and countries -we still talk.

But it isn’t frustrating. It isn’t stressful and it isn’t complicated (unless we eat brains, but that is another story for another time). Talking to you is the highlight of my day, I don’t have to explain every single thing to do, or justify having a crappy day. You never have discouraged my pipe dreams, and seem genuinely interested in what I have to say, and what I do. While others ask why – you say awesome! And while that probably leads to more trouble than I need (read: social groups) life has been really different since I met you.

I mean this in the least creepy way possible.

I don’t know if you realize it or not, but people are honestly very lucky to know you. Those who don’t are missing out on a bright spot in their day. Your humor (or humour for you) is something that very few people have, and is something that more people should learn to enjoy -maybe you should give lessons. Your philosophy and stance on life has changed the way I think, and made me look for the good instead of the bad. Despite everything you have gone through, you still manage to make others smile.

I for one, am very lucky to be able to call you a friend, and hope you know how much your friendship means to me. It isn’t something I will ever take for granted -knowing that friends like you truly are rare.

Happy Birthday, I hope you had the best day -you deserve it!

Leave a Reply

