The Big A

The local news is abuzz with the latest headlines that read “Mother tapes child up” and other assorted titles.  The story goes that after getting upset with her son, the seven year old was taped up for an entire day, and only untapped to be sent to school – where he was seen with tape residue and pieces of tape still in his hair.  Him and his younger siblings were taken into the states care, while the mother was sent to jail.  Only a few days later was she released with out enough evidence, and now the story is unfolding as everyone watches, forms opinions, hatches ideas, and points the fingers.

Its upsetting.  To me atleast.  In more than one way.  Honestly I don’t know who to believe, I can see both sides, but also know there is more to the story that what a seven year old and five year old have to say.  I don’t know how many times I have heard the same story from kids about how the person they are mad at did some sort of harm, such as tossing them in the garbage, etc.  But part of me wonders – how true is it?  Did the mother tape her son up, and if so, why?

Obviously the question on everyone’s mind is why, and how.  How could a mother do this to her own child?  Of course, it is entirely possible, as I know first hand with Josh, that a parent would inflict pain and harm to their child.

Right now the facts are as stands – that a child was taped up while in his mothers care, and evidence or not, the state has taken custody of the kids.

It’s a touchy subject for me, because I honestly don’t understand how one can harm their own kids on purpose, and also why does it have to come down to THIS before something is done.  Assuming what is being said is true, why must the kids endure trauma before action takes place?  This isn’t an isolated case, and every time I hear of child abuse, or an innocent childs death that could have been prevented by the so called system that is protecting our children – it makes my blood boil.

Honestly I don’t know what the solution would be, but I would think it would be more of an issue, considering.

It isn’t like it is a first time occurrence in most cases, there ARE warning signs, but everyone seemingly ignores them.  As if ignoring them will make them go away, and after all, what can be done?  There isn’t any evidence.  So we just wait.  Until something happens.  And then we deal with the worst possible case scenario.

Josh was never supposed to be in his dads care, but since he was the father, and there were no prior cases of child abuse/harmful signs, he was in his care, unsupervised for longer than he should have been.  Even when there were signs, they were ignored because there was no harm done yet.  It wasn’t until after the harm was done did they think twice.  And even then it was sketchy at best.

Not enough evidence.  Biological parents.  Given rights.  The buzz words that are tossed around like crazy, and loose meaning, giving the abusers the right to do whatever they care to do.

Either they just don’t care, or they just don’t see.

Both the “Parents” and the state.

And once again, I just want to show them, first hand.  What they are doing.  How their so called system is “helping” these kids, and how there is so much room for improvement, because the results are simply not good enough.  I know its not the first time, and I know it wont be the last, and that simple fact makes me so angry.  There is so much that we cannot protect our kids from, and this should not be one of them.  Cancer needs a cure.  Abuse needs to be kicked to the corner and left to rot.  Along with the abusers.

One comment

  1. I grew up in foster care, because my parents both died. It sucked and I can say first hand that the system sucks. I suffered abuse while in foster care.
    I am amazed when I hear these things, which is why I never watch the news. It just breaks my heart and I wonder how….why this can happen. If you don’t want your kid give them up for adoption. There are thousands of people that want children. I think it’s cowardly to abuse kids.
    This has struck a small cord with me. I feel a blog post coming on 😉

Leave a Reply

