August 1st

I never thought the day would come when I would actually search out barney related songs and pictures.  Never thought a day would come when I would actually miss hearing him.  What doesn’t seem like that many years ago, I would cringe at the thought of a purple dinosaur dancing across the TV screen.  I would imagine who was actually under that dinosaur suit and wonder why I got the one kid in the world who was absolutely obsessed with him.  There really was no way to avoid him.  The simple truth was she loved him; I hated him.

Yet today I was searching out songs, looking for a familiar one.  When in truth, they were all familiar.

She listened to him, watched him, danced to him, sang all about him, and most likely had plenty of dreams about him.

She was stubborn, and could hold her own.  She loved a lot of things, but everyone knew that her favorite, all time favorite, was barney.  The blasted purple dinosaur who would smile all day long, from ear to ear.  He came to ruin my life, and haunt my dreams.

What she saw in him, I will never know.

But she loved him, and as she would always say “He loves me!”  Which was pretty much his own fault, after singing the same song day in and day out, how could she not think that?

She wanted to be grown up, so bad, that sometimes she just couldn’t wait any longer.  She wanted to be “One of them” or “Just like them” so much, that “Growing up” often had to wait, because she was already “Grown up.”

Too often she would just find herself in the way because she wanted to be doing everything that everyone else was doing.  She needed to be grown up, craved being older yet was continually frustrated that she was still “Too young” to do most things she wanted to do.

What I want to be, what I want to be
When I grow up to be big me.
What I want to be, what I want to be
Is a doctor or a mail carrier.

Each day I work, what fun it would be.
I’ll always do my responsibility.
I’ll do what I do so carefully
When I grow up to be big me!

What I want to be, what I want to be
When I grow up to be big me.
What I want to be, what I want to be
Is a farmer or a firefighter.

Each day I work, what fun it would be.
I’ll always do my responsibility.
I’ll do what I do so carefully
When I grow up to be big me!

“Yes little bug, when you grow up I think you will be a big you.  But for now you need to go to sleep.”

Leave a Reply

